hollydoodle—wife, mommy, daughter, sister, friend…and any other hat i can wear

Praying for Friends April 13, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — hollydoodle00 @ 8:02 pm

So, I’ve had a heavy heart the last few days.  I’ve got a few friends that are going through some rough times right now.  I often want to do something to “help”, but honestly…all I can do is pray for these people.  Sometimes “just praying” seems like so little, but I know that is usually the biggest and best thing we can do for one another. 

I don’t take praying lightly.  I don’t tell people that I will pray for them if I don’t plan on it.  I don’t use it to bring comfort unless I truly mean that I will pray.  That may sound weird, but it annoys me when people say it and don’t mean it.  I used to think that I wasn’t very good at praying…I don’t use big words, and often times I feel like I sound childish when I pray aloud.  However, when I pray alone…it’s such a sweet time.  I can talk to God any way I want and feel is appropriate.  If I’m angry or super excited…or scared or just unsure….I know God is listening.  It’s just a relief.

I also used to think people were crazy when they would say that they would wake up in the middle of the night and pray for someone or something…but I’ve noticed that happens fairly often these days. 

Anyway, this is a really random post (as usual..lol).  I just felt like writing about it.  I’m not saying I’m a super spiritual person nor am I saying that I am the best at praying.  What I am saying is that I enjoy praying…and if I tell you that I am going to pray for you…I will.  I mean that.

So, before I go, I’d like to ask you guys to pray for a few people.  I am only going to name one family, but there are some others that are on my heart but it’s personal stuff for them that I don’t want to post.  Please keep the Floyd family in your prayers.  Todd was deployed today for 400 days.  (For those of you who don’t know…Todd is Zeb’s very best friend in the world.  He was in our wedding.)  Loni (his wife) is obviously at home and having to take care of their two kids without him for a while.  Please pray for his safety, his and his family’s sanity, and for their friend’s.  I know Zeb’s kind of having a rough time with it. 

See ya!
Holly

 

Leave a comment