hollydoodle—wife, mommy, daughter, sister, friend…and any other hat i can wear

Almost Christmas December 23, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — hollydoodle00 @ 2:41 pm

I can’t believe Christmas is in two days?!?  It came so fast this year. We’ve all been kind of sick the last few months….and I had walking pneumonia for a little over two weeks…so Christmas doesn’t seem like it’s supposed to be here yet.  Zeb did do something super sweet for me.  I’ve been sick so I haven’t had the opportunity to decorate our house…or our tree.  Well, I went shopping with my mom Sunday and when I got home….Zeb was decorating the tree!  Yay!  That was sooo wonderful.  Now I get to see the Christmas lights.

I love Christmas.  It’s always my favorite time of the year.  I enjoy the lights, the cool air (when it’s actually cool here), and the excitement that Christmas brings.  It actually is a little different this year with Zoe.  It makes the true meaning of Christmas a little more “special” because I understand a little more what God did when He sent His son to us.  It’s just sooo crazy to think about that little baby saving the whole world.  I can only imagine what Mary was thinking (A) when she found out she was preggo w/o being married, (B) knowing that her son was going to be a Savior, and (C)….realizing that the little boy she was holding…would have to die.  Ugh…I really can’t imagine having lost our first little boy…what it would be like to know as you are carrying that child…that you will “lose” him.

Anyway, back to loving Christmas time…..it’s just fun.  This year we are doing Christmas a tad bit different.  Instead of going to Zeb’s parents on the 23rd (which would be today) and spending the night so we can be there Christmas Day….we are going Friday.  Unfortunately, Zeb and I both have to work tomorrow…but it’s okay.  We are bringing Zoe to work with us…and only working half a day.  Christmas Day will be spent at my parent’s house…which is FINALLY completely done.  We will be there all day.  Of course, though, we must follow tradition on Christmas Day.  “What is your tradition?” you ask?!?  Well, Christmas morning, we get up…and we go to my parents house.  We are allowed to look in our stocking BUT NOT OPEN THE PRESENTS.  (Holy cow…that’s a huge NO NO).  Then we all eat breakfast together.  After we clean up the breakfast, someone reads the Christmas story.  (Funny side note…when I was like 10 or 11…someone gave me this book that is the 3 Minute Bible Stories….so I begged to use that as the book to read from instead of the actual Bible because it was only 3 minutes compared to however long the version is you read from the Bible.  I know, how sad….yet so smart!!!)  Last year Zebbie read the story.  Usually Daddy reads it…but we’ll see who gets volunteered this year.  After we read about baby Jesus, we sing “Happy Birthday” to Jesus.  Then we pray…..and then the presents are opened!  We usually pass them all out and start opening them.  When we were younger…Manda and I would get our presents first and tear into them.  I never understood why my parents were okay with waiting until we were done to open theirs…now I get it.  It’s a lot of fun seeing everyone else open their presents.

Whew…I guess I’ve worn everyone out now with my babbling.  I just love it!  I’m so excited just thinking about Christmas.  Zeb is wanting to surprise me with a gift he went to get today…I’m interested to see what he gets.  He’s building me a scrapbook desk as my big gift.  I think he’ll be done with it closer to my b’day (in two weeks).  I think he’ll like his gifts.  He’s pretty fun to buy for.  Zoe isn’t getting tooo much this year.  She’s kind of at this weird age where she doesn’t have a clue….and she’ll just want to play with the cardboard boxes rather than the toys.  I don’t really know what to get her b/c  they don’t make a lot of toys for a 7 month old.  It’ll be fun, though.  We are going to dress her up in her Christmas Outfit which is absolutley adorable.  I’ll have to find a pic to put on here.

 

One Response to “Almost Christmas”

  1. urshley Says:

    oooo! i want to come over and see the desk when it’s finished!


Leave a Reply

